Annual Award Nomination


We proudly recognize outstanding members of the recovery community each year. Prior to our National Recovery Month Event we like to solicit nominations on the five categories below. We encourage you to nominate members of the recovery community who you feel represent those titles.

Submissions should be no less than 2 paragraphs and should include a brief bio and at least 1 paragraph explaining why you feel this individual is deserving of the award in the particular category. Please be specific as to why you chose that category and why this person exemplifies these qualities. Submissions are due by Saturday Aug 13th, 2022

Robert Koch and Marsha Beach Lifetime Achievement Award

An individual or organization that has had outstanding vision, dedication, and commitment to the recovery community and treatment industry, for a period longer than 10 years.

Professional of the Year Award

An individual who has made significant impact and contribution for the past year in their position as counselor, therapist or case manager in the recovery field.

Recovery Advocate of the Year

An individual who has 1) demonstrated dedication to raise awareness and address barriers for individual in or seeking recovery 2) demonstrated leadership in advancing multiple pathways to recovery and recovery support services.

Recovery Champion of the Year

An individual who has made a commitment to improving the lives of people in or seeking recovery.

Recovery Person of the Year

An individual who has 1) demonstrated significant progress in their recovery and 2) made significant efforts to “give back” to their recovery community and 3) has been in recovery for a minimum of 2 years.

Past Broward Recovery Month Honorees


Recovery Person of the Year

Recovery Advocate of the Year

Lifetime Achievement

Professional  of the Year

Para-Professional of the Year

2018Kathryn Del GuidiceMarie Guma-JelinekJudie MitchellMarissa WayCheryl Nunn
2017Rachel LandryJanet DownieCarol RayRichard MayoraDavid Goloski


Kristen SmithElizabeth “Lissa” FranklinVan JonesChristopher Hickman


John CorreaJustine CastañedaBroward Addiction Recovery Center [BARC]Dr. David Fawcett


Bobbie Linkhorn / Ray RapagliaJohn ReeckMaureen DonadioVernon Martin / Harry Henshaw


Joseph AhneAllan TylerRocky RodriguezVinny Richards


Maite SoriShawn BatezaJudge Marcia BeachBeatriz Felton


Katherine WiggensGeri PipitoneJudge Robert J. FoganBradley Haber


Ivan SteinkeTom FlahertyDavid ChoateJean Fisher


Ron MalecDavid HaywardSchelle MeyerMiriam Griffin


Bill MurphyPaul JacquithPat KramerBen Brafman


Salah AbdallaMarci RonikHon. Judge Giselle PollackGuy A. Wheeler


Will GraysonDr. Jacqueline PanellasDrusilla FowlerJennifer Lee


Matthew GriglockSheriff Ken JennePhillip Dickey


Cheryl ClardyDavid ChoateHon. Judge Melanie May


Mathis MooreMaureen FloriKen Decerchio